I made mustard!

homemade mustard

DIY condiments may sound a little gourmet for the average Josephine, but what really inspires me is how it helps me eliminate packaging waste by re-using jars I already have.  Find out why re-use beats recycling, hands down.  Making my own condiments is cheap, easy, delicious, and sort of fascinating.

My friend Vanessa gave me this easy recipe for mustard last year, and I finally tried it.  I brought my own containers to buy the ingredients in bulk at The Wedge Co-op.  Then I stirred the ingredients together and let them sit at room temperature in an airtight jar.  After two days, I blended them in a food processor and–voilà!  Zingy dijon mustard that stores in the fridge for up to three months.  Now I can use my own mustard to make a basic vinagrette or dijon potato salad!

Pro-Tip: What held me back from trying this recipe sooner is I don’t keep white wine on hand.  Finally I looked for white wine substitutions and settled on this one : 1/4 cup white vinegar + 1/4 cup water + 1 TBS white sugar.

Basic Dijon Mustard

1/4 cup brown mustard seeds (I used all yellow seeds instead of brown)
1/4 cup yellow mustard seeds
1/2 cup of dry white wine like sauvignon blanc  ( I used this substitution:  1/4 cup white vinegar + 1/4 cup water + 1 TBS white sugar)
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp salt

1. mix together and store in air tight container for two days at room temp
2. put in food processor and blend until desired smooth or corse texture
3. stores in fridge up to three months

Read about another great condiment I make here.

2 responses to “I made mustard!

  1. Welcome back!

    I was never a mustard person until I got pregnant. I want to try this.

    P.S. It’s really weirding me out that there’s a burger ad on your blog – the burger part, not the ad part.

Leave a Reply

