Weird Waffle Wednesday

A Simple Plan

This suggestion from a Real Simple article “5 Quick Rituals For a Better Day” caught my eye: eat the same breakfast everyday.  My husband and I eat the same breakfast together every morning, and instead of growing tired of sprouted buckwheat; I feel almost cheated when I don’t get to have it.  We change up the fresh fruit topping depending on what’s in season.  Currently we are grooving on diced oranges.  Find out all about the breakfast here.

sprouted buckwheat with cashew milk and diced orange

The drawback

It slowly dawned on me that I rarely get to eat other breakfast foods that I like.  After attending a scrumptious “Breakfast for Dinner” birthday party at Heather Haynes’ house I decide to change all that.

almond flour: new at the Wedge.  bring your own bag!

Breakfast for dinner

My first inspiration is  almond flour newly available in bulk at the Wedge.  I get excited when I can add another package-free item to my pantry.  But what could I make with almond flour?  I reminisce about the almond bread I used to get from the now defunct Madwoman gluten-free bakery.  It was denser, heavier and heartier than regular bread and made tasty toast.  But I’m not much of a baker.

Lightning bolt

Waffles!  Made from almond flour, they would be high in protein and low in the non-complex carbs that I think of as empty calories.   I could make a big batch, throw some in the freezer and have homemade waffles at the ready for a quick snack, meal, or dessert.  No non-recyclable freezer boxesNo distressing ingredients!

I find several recipes for almond flour waffles online.  Out of sheer laziness, I decide to try the simplest one first–it doesn’t call for separating egg whites from yolks.  Here is the recipe.

almond flour waffles

The batter seems too runny, so I added in 1/3 cup of spelt flour, also available in bulk at the Wedge.  Though floppy, these waffles are worthy of accolades.  As the online comments warn, they taste great but don’t crisp up like regular waffles.  It’s something about the gluten-free nature of almond flour.  Let the record show that my niece Jane asked for seconds, and she is one tough customer.  I recommend these waffles for people who crave a gluten-free (if you don’t add spelt flour), low carb, high protein breakfast-for-dinner treat.

Adventures in waffling

Because I’m veering away from eggs and milk in my own diet I want to see how this recipe fares with egg replacers.  Ground flax mixed with 2-3 TBS of water can be used in place of eggs in some recipes.  I also add a mashed banana, cut the honey in half and add 1/3 cup coconut flour instead of the extra spelt flour I added to the first batch.  This time the batter is too thick, probably due to the ground flax. I add a full cup of water to get it into the ballpark.

Amazing chemical reaction

I pour my egg-free concoction into the iron with high hopes.   When I close the lid, the batter gushes profusely from the sides, as my sister and I watch in awe.  When the batter flow finally subsides, I open the lid and the iron is empty.  No waffle to be found.  I recommend this waffle recipe for candid camera or other hidden camera laugh riot shows.

A panny for your cakes

After my egg-free waffle debacle, I find myself with a bowl of weird batter that is unfit for human waffle irons.  ‘What would happen in a pan?’ is the next question burning in my mind.  And burn they did.  These pancakes really stuck to the griddle and were difficult to flip.  They seemed a bit crumbly but also were also thick and so moist that they needed to cook a long time.

some of the better’uns

A day later…

It wasn’t until the next day that I sat down determined to eat my creation.  I served up a plate for myself and one for my long suffering husband.

Gee, your pancakes taste terrific.

The gloomy cloud of doubt suddenly burned away in golden beams of delight.  Burnt and scruffy looking, I assert that these humble egg-free pancakes taste as good as the waffles did.  “I think they’re better,” Brian proclaims.  It was almost like the burnt crust made them taste rich and carmelly.  Since then I’ve been trying to re-capture the magic but make the pancakes easier to flip.  I tried putting oil in the batter, but found it worked much better to put that oil in the pan.  Keeping the cakes small also helps them be more flippable.

I’m not sure how to bring back that burnt carmel taste but here is the recipe I arrived at.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour

1/3 cup coconut flour

1 tsp baking soda

3 TBS ground flax seed

1 tsp Ener G egg replacer

1 -3/4 cups water

1 tsp vanilla

2 TBS honey

1 mashed banana

2-3 TBS canola oil for in the pan

Directions:

In one bowl , stir together ground flax, egg replacer, water, vanilla, mashed bananas.

flax and ener-g egg replacer

mashed bananas

In a large mixing bowl, stir together almond flour, coconut flour, and baking soda.  Add bowl of liquid ingredients and stir together.

batter up!

Use 2-3 TBS oil to thoroughly coat heated pan.  Spoon small dollops of batter onto pan.  Cook on med-low heat for 3-4 minutes on each side.

pancakes

more pancakes

big plate o’pancakes

Serve for dinner with real maple syrup.  Freeze some for later. Yum.

Thanks for reading the Wednesday Post.

5 responses to “Weird Waffle Wednesday

    • Nikki, I’ve never baked almond bread but I bought a few loaves of it. Not the best for sandwiches I say but yummy for toast. You have an open invite to share your blue ribbon banana bread recipe in the Wednesday Post! Guest blog! The people want to know!

Leave a Reply

